TreZor, Ushers in a New design Era

ushers in a new design era

TreZor, Ushers in a New design Era
TreZor, Ushers in a New design Era
TreZor, Ushers in a New design Era

At the immaculate open-space design center at the Technocentre – a blank page on which tomorrow’s vehicles are drawn – Anthony Lo, VP Exterior Design, told us how the brand continues to cultivate its difference as it initiates a new creative cycle.

Scenic marks the end of a cycle for Renault design?

Anthony Lo — Yes, and we are very proud of the work achieved. Renault’s design strategy is based on the life cycle, exploring the experiences of our customers as they fall in love, discover the world, create a family, work, enjoy leisure, and attain wisdom. The teams covered all these experiences over a six-year period and met the major challenge of entirely renewing the range through new vehicles or new generations of vehicles.

Does the TreZor concept car revealed at the 2016 Paris Motor Show initiate a new phase?

It is indeed a new beginning. TreZor celebrates what we have achieved and announces what we want to do next. What does TreZor express? That we want to continue developing a simple, to-the-point language. And that we want to go further in terms of details. We are initiating the new cycle with the theme of love. TreZor expresses a mature sensibility, a strong commitment. We have exaggerated some of the details such as the front-end signature. We have introduced new materials, including an unprecedented “faceted” carbon exterior. Vehicle entry and exit is also innovative. There are no conventional doors; it’s like getting into a sports car.

“ Our objective is to stand apart in terms of concepts and design. It would be risky for us to merely follow trends. ”

What next?

Our objective is to stand apart in terms of concepts and design. It would be risky for us to merely follow trends. For example, the Chinese market today is dominated by SUVs. Does that mean we should replace this vehicle generation with the same thing? I’m not so sure. SUVs are the latest thing but what will the next thing be? One of the keys to success is becoming more international, learning how to read the needs of our markets, observing so as to improve our concepts. The success of the Renault Samsung QM3 in the highly demanding South Korean market shows that this objective is within our reach.

How to foster creativity?

The Design team is staffed by people of 29 nationalities with diverse backgrounds. The recent reorganization of the Technocentre design centre in France will bring us closer together around a shared core, since our studios look over the workshop where we can constantly see the progress being made on prototypes and models. Renault is also one step ahead in term of imaging tools. Very early on in the process, we can visualize designs in 3D and share future concepts with our partner departments. This is vital to creating trust in the projects.

TreZor, Ushers in a New design Era TreZor, Ushers in a New design Era

read more

TreZor, a two-seater electric coupé, embodies the design renewal initiated in 2010 by the DeZir concept car. TreZor reflects the maturity of Renault design and this video reveals its key design features and characteristics, explained by Stéphane Janin, Till Breitfuss and Chris Vagg.


TreZor, Ushers in a New design Era

TreZor takes body design even further than DeZir

Exterior design draws on sports car cues, with no aggressiveness.

Perfect proportions. Architecture and optimal proportions form the basis of Renault design.

Astonishing exterior. Combining masculine and feminine attributes the carbon body is smooth and silky.

Since tomorrow’s cars will be autonomous, connected and electric,the cockpit, designed until now for driving, can now be rethought on the basis of new onboard activities.

The integration of connectivity and multimedia systems has opened up the design field. Concept cars are now designed in a cross-disciplinary fashion by the Design teams and those at Engineering.

By changing the driving and traveling experience of our customers, the advent of the connected vehicle sets new design challenges. The objective is to better integrate these new “control centers”, which now play a central role on the dashboard.

The Product offensive continues ...
we are giving groupe renault a long-term future

TreZor, Ushers in a New design Era

ZOE e-Sport Concept

100% electric and 100% sporty, ZOE e-Sport Concept is a combination of a Renault ZOE production model and a Renault e.dams Formula E single-seater.

Groupe Renault made several vehicle launches in 2016. The Renault range has been fully renewed and the Dacia range restyled.

Product reveals

New Captur

Europe’s best-selling urban crossover in 2016, Captur has been reinvented with even more distinctive styling and new in-car technologies.

New Koleos

Revealed in Beijing in April 2016 and already launched in some regions, New Koleos will be launched in Europe in June 2017


A pick-up with a one-tonne payload already sold in Latin America, Alaskan will be launched in Europe in late 2017.

Alpine A110

A new two-seater sports coupé that renews the timeless qualities of compact design, lightness and agility behind the success of the “Berlinette.”

Dacia Logan MCV Stepway

The Stepway family greets a new member: a modern, spacious and affordable station wagon with an adventuresome spirit.


Renault TreZor wins the “Most Beautiful Concept Car 2016” award at the International Automobile Festival.

Renault 2016-2017 Report annual


Renault 2016-2017 Report annual

TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault

TreZor,
une nouvelle ère pour le design

TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault
TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault
TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault

Depuis l’open space immaculé du centre Design du Technocentre, page blanche sur laquelle se dessinent les véhicules de demain, Anthony Lo, VP Design Extérieur, explique comment la marque continue à cultiver sa différence, alors que démarre un nouveau cycle créatif.

Scénic marque la fin d’un cycle pour le design Renault ?

Anthony Lo — Oui, et nous sommes très fiers du travail accompli. Basée sur le cycle de la vie, la stratégie design de Renault explore les différentes expériences que vivent nos clients : tomber amoureux, découvrir le monde, fonder une famille, travailler, vivre ses loisirs, accéder à la sagesse. En six ans, les équipes ont couvert la totalité de ce parcours de vie et ont relevé un véritable défi : renouveler entièrement la gamme en proposant de nouveaux véhicules ou de nouvelles générations de véhicules.

Le concept car TreZor, dévoilé au Mondial de Paris en 2016, ouvre-t-il une nouvelle phase ?

C’est effectivement un nouveau commencement : TreZor célèbre ce que nous avons déjà accompli et annonce ce que nous voulons faire dans le futur. Que dit TreZor ? Que nous devons continuer à développer un langage simple, qui va à l’essentiel. Que nous voulons aller encore plus loin dans les détails. Nous redémarrons ce nouveau cycle en commençant par l’amour, et TreZor exprime une certaine maturité des sentiments, un engagement fort. Certains détails ont été exagérés, comme la signature à l’avant. Nous avons introduit de nouveaux matériaux,comme une carrosserie extérieure en carbone « à facettes », ce qui n’avait jamais été fait. La façon d’entrer et de sortir de la voiture est aussi très novatrice. Les portes classiques ont disparu, on s’y installe un peu comme dans une voiture de sport.

« Notre objectif est de nous différencier en termes de concepts comme de design. Nous contenter de suivre les tendances serait un risque. »


Quelles sont les prochaines étapes ?

Notre objectif est de nous différencier, en termes de concepts comme de design. Nous contenter de suivre les tendances serait un risque. En Chine par exemple, le marché est aujourd’hui dominé par les SUV. Est-ce que cela signifie qu’il faut remplacer cette génération de véhicules par la même chose ? Cela n’est pas certain. Les SUV sont la nouveauté du moment, mais quelle sera la prochaine nouveauté ? L’une des clés du succès est d’être encore plus international, de savoir écouter le feed-back de nos marchés, d’observer pour améliorer encore nos concepts. Le succès du Renault Samsung QM3 sur un marché très exigeant, celui de la Corée du Sud, montre que cet objectif est à notre portée.

Comment favoriser la créativité ?

L’équipe Design compte des collaborateurs de 29 nationalités qui viennent d’horizons très divers. Le réaménagement récent du centre Design du Technocentre va nous souder encore davantage autour d’un cœur commun puisque nos studios surplombent l’atelier, où l’on peut voir en permanence l’avancée des prototypes et maquettes. Renault a également une longueur d’avance en matière d’outils d’imagerie. On peut, très en amont, visualiser en 3D et partager avec nos directions partenaires les concepts de demain. C’est essentiel pour créer la confiance autour des projets.

TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault

lire plus

TreZor, coupé électrique 2 places, s'inscrit dans le renouveau design initié en 2010 avec DEZIR. Ce concept-car représente ainsi la maturité du design Renault et révèle dans cette vidéo ses principales lignes et caractéristiques expliquées par Stéphane JANIN, Till BREITFUSS et Chris VAGG.
Design

TreZor

TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault

TreZor va plus loin que DeZir

Le design extérieur puise, sans agressivité, dans les codes des véhicules sportifs.

Proportions parfaites. L’architecture, les proportions optimales sont la base du style Renault.

Étonnant extérieur, conjuguant le féminin et le masculin, la carrosserie carbone est lisse et satinée.

Puisque le véhicule de demain sera autonome, connecté et électrique, le cockpit, jusqu’à présent conçu pour la conduite, peut désormais être repensé autour de nouvelles activités à bord.

L’intégration de la connectivité et des systèmes multimédias a ouvert le champ du design : le travail sur les concept cars se fait de façon transdisciplinaire, avec les équipes Design et les Ingénieries.

En modifiant l’expérience de conduite et de vie à bord de nos clients, l’avènement du véhicule connecté pose de nouveaux défis au design. Objectif : intégrer au mieux ces nouveaux « centres de contrôle » qui jouent désormais un rôle central dans le tableau de bord.

L'offensive produit continue,
nous donnons un avenir à long terme au groupe renault.

TreZor inaugure une nouvelle dynamique du design - Groupe Renault

Les nouveautés du salon de Genève 2017

ZOE e-Sport Concept. 100 % électrique et 100 % sportif, ZOE e-Sport Concept est la rencontre entre une Renault ZOE de série et une monoplace Renault de Formule E.

Le Groupe Renault a réalisé plusieurs lancements véhicules en 2016. La gamme Renault a été entièrement renouvelée et la gamme Dacia revisitée.
Design

Les révélations produits

Nouveau Captur

Crossover urbain le plus vendu en Europe en 2016, Captur se réinvente par son design encore plus distinctif et de nouvelles technologies embarquées.

Nouveau Koleos

Révélé à Pékin en avril 2016 et déjà commercialisé dans certaines régions, Nouveau Koleos est lancé en Europe en juin 2017.

Alaskan

Ce pick-up d’une tonne de charge utile, déjà vendu en Amérique latine, sera commercialisé en Europe fin 2017.

Alpine A110

Un nouveau coupé sport deux places qui renouvèle les principes intemporels de compacité, de légèreté et d’agilité qui ont fait le succès de la « Berlinette ».

Dacia Logan MCV Stepway

La famille Stepway accueille un break moderne, spacieux et abordable à l’esprit baroudeur.

TreZor

Renault TreZor remporte le prix du « plus beau concept car de l’année 2016 » décerné par le jury du Festival Automobile international.

Renault rapport annuel 2016-2017

haut de page

Renault rapport annuel 2016-2017