The Renault-Nissan Alliance
The Renault-Nissan Alliance The Renault-Nissan Alliance

Employees know how important
the Alliance is and why

The Renault-Nissan Alliance
The Renault-Nissan Alliance
The Renault-Nissan Alliance

Nearly 600 recruitments

Nissan Micra production at Flins and Micra chassis production at Le Mans have generated an increase in recruitment in the employment catchment areas of the two sites. Renault recruited nearly 600 people at Flins and Le Mans on open-ended contracts between 2015 and 2016, covering all professional categories (operators, technicians and managers). The jobs concern young graduates and experienced professionals alike, with education levels ranging from vocational training certificates and professional high-school diplomas to five years of higher education.

Combining tradition and innovation at Le Mans

The chassis components of the new Nissan Micra are produced in their entirety by a French plant, Renault’s oldest in France: Le Mans. Requiring a €7 million investment in new manufacturing tools, this production has increased site activity by around 8%. Le Mans today is involved in nearly all the Group’s “product” projects and houses a chassis technical center on the leading edge of innovation and expertise.

Designed for the city

The new Nissan Micra has a more modern design, onboard technology and dynamic road performance for guaranteed at-the-wheel pleasure. Targeting demanding young customers, it has everything it takes to carve out a strong position in the ultracompetitive urban car market.

This is the first time the Alliance has gone this far in the sharing of industrial processes

— Interview with Catherine Perez
Vice-President, B Segment Program, Nissan

Why was Flins chosen to produce the new Nissan Micra?

Catherine Perez — The fifth-generation model was designed for Europe, so it was natural to produce it at a site close to its main customers. The European market is extremely competitive, especially in the urban car market, and the success of a model launch hinges on not making customers wait too long. We also chose a European site because each customer can create “his” Micra, a customization possibility that is incompatible with long-distance transport. Competing against the other sites in the network, Flins came out on top notably because it already produced other B-segment models. This meant we could reuse equipment already in place.

Is this the first time a Nissan vehicle has been assembled in a 100% Renault plant?

It is the first time Nissan has entrusted Renault with the industrial development of a completely new vehicle. This required the convergence of two industrial cultures and the introduction of specific Nissan work procedures at Flins. The process took three years starting from the choice of the French site in 2013. Several Flins operators attended training in Japan at Nissan’s Oppama plant, one of the Group’s most modern sites. This valuable exercise in sharing led to a number of reciprocal adaptations. For example, Nissan adopted the car roof assembly process used by Renault. More attractive, faster and less costly, this process is now used for the Nissan Micra and will be extended to other Nissan production sites for other vehicles. After an initial phase of producing parts on a replica of the assembly line in Japan, tests were made on the real line with the support of Nissan teams having traveled to France. This led to the production of the first cars in early 2017.

“In Europe’s highly competitive urban car market, customers simply cannot be made to wait for their purchase.”

What are your main takeaways from this shared work effort?

This project is much more than a simple sharing of processes.
The engineering, quality and manufacturing teams from Flins and Oppama put a great deal of effort into the project. Thanks to their substantial efforts over a three-year period, this production line today represents the very best of Renault and Nissan. A true “learning workshop” was rolled out, and the Alliance will reap the benefits over the long term.

The Renault-Nissan Alliance The Renault-Nissan Alliance

read more

Renault's Flins plant has been producing Micra since 2016. Focus on a Renault-Nissan co-production with an interview with Catherine Perez, Vice-President, B Segment Program, Nissan, and Olivier Talabard, Director of the Flins plant.

Challenge met

The Renault-Nissan Alliance
The Renault-Nissan Alliance

New Micra produced at a French plant.

The Renault-Nissan Alliance

With Micra at Flins,
the Alliance is taking concrete form

Nathalie Retourné, Head of the Paint Shop Elementary Work Unit, was one of the 60 Flins employees to train at Nissan’s Oppama site in Japan. We talked about the exceptional experience.

How did you integrate the Nissan processes?

Nathalie Retourné — I made two trips to Oppama with two of my colleagues – a trainer and an operator. On the first trip, I learned all about the production lines and obtained Supervisor Master Trainer certification, so now I can train other operators on Nissan standards. This is the first time Renault employees have obtained this certification, and it was a vital point in Nissan authorizing Flins to produce Micra. Our second trip was more about training on specific tools. I was struck both times by the rigorousness of the training, the time our Japanese colleagues spent detailing every movement and process and explaining them to the operators. The system is extensive, with video screens set up at operator station showing operating procedures.

What did you gain from the experience?

It changed the way I look at my teams and the way I transmit my knowledge to them. But the opposite is also true: there was a real dialogue between us. For example, the Oppama teams didn’t have the same approach to ergonomics, and when we were there we explained ours to them.

How do people feel about the arrival of Micra at Flins?

It is a real opportunity for the plant, ensuring its long-term future. But above all this project has given the Alliance concrete form. We are now producing a Nissan vehicle, but thanks to the sharing of best practices and processes between Renault and Nissan. My impression is that it is no different from manufacturing a Renault car.

The Renault-Nissan Alliance The Renault-Nissan Alliance

read more

The Renault-Nissan Alliance

Passport to the world market...
and to the future of autonomous driving

The Renault-Nissan Alliance

Alliance Renault-Nissan,


years of experience


millions vehicles sold
worldwide in 2016, or 1 out of 9 vehicles

Fruitful partnerships

with Daimler, Dongfeng, AVTOVAZ and Mitsubishi Motors


electric vehicles sales combined for the Renault-Nissan Alliance,
with Mitsubishi Motors, at end-2016

Renault 2016-2017 Report annual


Renault 2016-2017 Report annual

L'Alliance Renault-Nissan : 18 ans de défis relevés et de réussite
Renault Rapport Annuel 2106-2017 L'usine Renault de Flins produit la Nissan Micra depuis 2016. Retour sur une co-production Renault-Nissan avec l'interview de Catherine Perez, Directeur du Programme segment B chez Nissan et Olivier Talabard, Directeur de l'usine de Flins.

Ils écrivent l’Alliance avec un grand A
et ils savent pourquoi

L'Alliance Renault-Nissan : 18 ans de défis relevés et de réussite
L'Alliance Renault-Nissan : 18 ans de défis relevés et de réussite
L'Alliance Renault-Nissan : 18 ans de défis relevés et de réussite

Près de 600 recrutements

La fabrication de la Nissan Micra à Flins et la production du châssis de la voiture à l’usine du Mans ont contribué à la hausse du recrutement dans les bassins d’emploi de ces deux sites. Renault a réalisé entre 2015 et 2016 près de 600 recrutements en CDI à Flins et au Mans pour des postes de toutes catégories professionnelles (ouvriers, techniciens, ingénieurs et cadres) qui s’adressent aussi bien à des jeunes diplômés qu’à des profils expérimentés, avec des diplômes allant du niveau CAP, bac pro ou BTS à bac+5.

Au Mans, l’alliance de la tradition et de l’innovation

Les composants du châssis de la nouvelle Nissan Micra sont produits à 100 % par une usine française, la plus ancienne de Renault dans l’Hexagone, celle du Mans. Cette fabrication, qui a nécessité un investissement de 7 millions d’euros dans de nouveaux outils de production, augmente d’environ 8 % l’activité du site. Aujourd’hui associé à la quasi-totalité des projets « produits » du Groupe, Le Mans abrite un centre technique châssis à la pointe de l’innovation et de l’expertise.

Pensée pour la ville

Un design plus moderne, une technologie embarquée et des performances dynamiques qui garantissent un véritable plaisir de conduite : pensée pour une clientèle jeune et exigeante, la nouvelle Nissan Micra a tout pour percer sur le marché hyperconcurrentiel de la voiture urbaine.

C’est la première fois que l’Alliance va aussi loin dans le partage des process industriels

— Entretien avec Catherine Perez
Directeur programme segment B chez Nissan



Comment le choix s’est-il porté sur Flins pour la fabrication de la nouvelle Nissan Micra ?

Catherine Perez — Cette 5e génération a été pensée pour l’Europe, il était donc logique d’allouer sa fabrication à un site proche de ses clients principaux. Le marché européen est extrêmement concurrentiel, surtout sur le segment des citadines, et il est essentiel pour la réussite d’un lancement de ne pas faire attendre longtemps les clients. Autre argument en faveur d’un site européen : chaque client peut créer « sa » Micra, et cette personnalisation n’est pas compatible avec de longues distances de transport. Mis en concurrence avec d’autres sites du réseau, Flins l’a emporté, notamment parce que l’usine fabriquait déjà des véhicules du segment B. On pouvait donc réutiliser des équipements déjà en place.

Assembler un véhicule Nissan dans une usine 100 % Renault, est-ce une première ?

C’est la première fois que Nissan confie à Renault l’industrialisation d’un véhicule entièrement nouveau. Il a fallu faire converger deux cultures industrielles et implanter à Flins des façons de faire propres à Nissan. Le processus a pris trois ans à partir de l’annonce du choix du site français en 2013. Plusieurs opérateurs de Flins sont partis se former au Japon au sein de l’usine Nissan d’Oppama, l’une des plus modernes du Groupe. Ces échanges très enrichissants ont parfois débouché sur des adaptations réciproques. Nissan a, par exemple, adopté le process d’assemblage du toit des véhicules utilisé par Renault. À la fois plus esthétique, plus rapide et moins coûteux, il est aujourd’hui utilisé pour la Nissan Micra mais va aussi s’étendre aux autres sites de production de Nissan pour d’autres véhicules. Après une première approche de fabrication de pièces sur une réplique de la chaîne de montage au Japon, des tests ont été réalisés sur la vraie chaîne, avec le support d’équipes de Nissan qui se sont déplacées à Flins, pour aboutir à la fabrication des premiers véhicules début 2017.

« Sur un marché européen très concurrentiel pour le segment des citadines, impossible de faire attendre les clients qui ont acheté un véhicule.»

Que retenez-vous de ce travail en commun ?

Ce projet va plus loin que le simple partage de process :
les équipes ingénierie, qualité, manufacturing de Flins et d’Oppama s’y sont très fortement investies. Elles ont mené pendant ces trois ans un tel travail de fond que l’on peut vraiment dire aujourd’hui que cette ligne de production représente le meilleur de Renault et de Nissan. C’est un formidable « atelier d’apprentissage » qui a pu se mettre en place, et l’Alliance n’a pas fini d’en mesurer les bénéfices.

Renault Rapport Annuel 2106-2017 Renault Rapport Annuel 2106-2017

lire plus

L'usine Renault de Flins produit la Nissan Micra depuis 2016. Retour sur une co-production Renault-Nissan avec l'interview de Catherine Perez, Directeur du Programme segment B chez Nissan et Olivier Talabard, Directeur de l'usine de Flins.
Alliance

Un défi relevé

L'Alliance Renault-Nissan : 18 ans de défis relevés et de réussite
L'Alliance Renault-Nissan : 18 ans de défis relevés et de réussite

La nouvelle Micra produite en France

L'Alliance Renault-Nissan : 18 ans de défis relevés et de réussite

Avec la Micra à Flins,
l’Alliance devient concrète

Chef d’unité élémentaire de travail peinture, Nathalie Retourné a fait partie des 60 collaborateurs de Flins qui se sont formés sur le site Nissan d’Oppama, au Japon. Retour sur une expérience exceptionnelle.



Comment avez-vous intégré les process Nissan ?

Nathalie Retourné — Avec deux de mes collègues, un formateur et un opérateur, j’ai fait deux voyages à Oppama. Le premier m’a permis de découvrir l’implantation des chaînes et de me former pour obtenir la certification de Supervisor Master Trainer, pour pouvoir former à mon tour d’autres opérateurs aux standards Nissan. C’est la première fois que des collaborateurs de Renault obtiennent cette certification, indispensable pour que Nissan autorise Flins à produire la Micra. Notre second séjour était davantage tourné vers des formations à des outils spécifiques. Chaque fois, j’ai été frappée par la très grande rigueur de ces formations, le temps passé par nos collègues japonais à détailler chaque geste, chaque process et à les expliquer aux opérateurs. Le système va très loin, avec des écrans vidéo implantés sur les postes des opérateurs et qui montrent les modes opératoires.

Qu’avez-vous retiré de cette expérience ?

Elle a modifié le regard que je porte sur mes équipes et la façon dont je transmets ce que je sais. Mais l’inverse est aussi vrai, et il y a eu un véritable échange entre nous : par exemple, les équipes d’Oppama n’avaient pas la même approche de l’ergonomie. Nos séjours ont permis de les sensibiliser à la nôtre.

Comment est ressentie l’arrivéede la Micra à Flins ?

Pour le site, c’est une chance, et cela lui permet d’assurer son avenir. Mais surtout, avec ce projet, l’Alliance est devenue concrète. Aujourd’hui, c’est un véhicule Nissan que nous fabriquons, mais, grâce au partage de bonnes pratiques et des process entre Renault et Nissan, j’ai le sentiment qu’il n’y a aucune différence avec la fabrication d’une voiture Renault.

Renault Rapport Annuel 2106-2017 Renault Rapport Annuel 2106-2017

lire plus

L'Alliance Renault-Nissan : 18 ans de défis relevés et de réussite

Passeport pour le marché mondial
et pour l'avenir de la conduite autonome

Renault Rapport Annuel 2106-2017

Alliance Renault-Nissan,

18

années d’expérience

Dans le monde en 2016,

9,96

millions de véhicules vendus
soit 1 véhicule sur 9

Des partenariats
fructueux

avec Daimler, Dongfeng, AVTOVAZ et Mitsubishi

424 797

véhicules électriques en ventes cumulées pour l’Alliance Renault-Nissan,
avec Mitsubishi Motors, fin 2016

Renault rapport annuel 2016-2017

haut de page

Renault rapport annuel 2016-2017