Editorial by Carlos Ghosn, Groupe Renault Chairman and CEO Editorial by Carlos Ghosn, Groupe Renault Chairman and CEO

Edito by Carlos Ghosn

Editorial by Carlos Ghosn, Groupe Renault Chairman and CEO
Editorial by Carlos Ghosn, Groupe Renault Chairman and CEO

In the last six years, 2016 being the culmination, Groupe Renault has indeed changed. In a concrete and visible manner. Last year alone we launched ten vehicles.

We have moved into new segments, including pick-ups with Alaskan. We have also continued to renew the range with iconic models such as new Scénic and, more recently, the Alpine A110, presented at the Geneva Motor Show.

“Renault has changed
and will continue to change.”

We have strengthened our geographical presence – in China, India, Iran, Argentina, Brazil and Russia – with the successful consolidation of AVTOVAZ. Yesterday’s pioneers, we are confirming our place as the leaders of the electric vehicle market, with, among others, ZOE Z.E. 40, Kangoo Z.E. and Master Z.E. Our results in 2016 show the extent of these changes.

One year ahead of schedule, we have exceeded the objectives set as part of the “Drive the Change” strategic plan, with revenue of €51.2 billion, operating margin of 6.4% and net margin of 6.9%, ranking us among the best in the automotive industry. By welcoming Mitsubishi Motors, the Alliance sold close to ten million vehicles, and currently ranks in the world’s top two(1) automotive manufacturers. Our strengthened range and geographical footprint, productive partnerships and record and robust results are the external signs of a deep-seated transformation, led as part of the “Drive the Change” strategic plan since 2011. A key transformation driver has been increasing our profit sources, achieved through a more diversified vehicle portfolio and a better balanced geographical mix. In the last few years we have invested in local production and sourcing, by setting up plants in Morocco, Algeria and China. In France, the agreements signed with the social partners have been crucial to Renault’s return to competitiveness. From 2013 to 2016, production in France grew by 50% and we hired three times more employees than initially planned, or a total 3,000 people. Between now and 2019 we are going to modernize our production base and hire 3,600 employees, 1,800 of whom this year, and 6,000 people on young-professional contracts. Another key driver in our transformation, made possible by the Alliance, has been the generation of economies of scale – and the corresponding reduction in costs. By developing common platforms we have been able to build more vehicles in more countries at lower cost and with lower investment levels. In the last six years, we have saved some €3 billion in this way. We have worked across the vehicle value chain, from product definition to engineering, manufacturing, suppliers and logistics. Renault has changed. Its growth is now more global, more sustainable and more profitable. With our solid foundations and new energy, as part of a prosperous Alliance, we have the mass and resources to sustain our strong performance in the future. To do so, we need to keep changing. Because there are many challenges – the automotive sector is changing. The vehicle of the future will be electric, connected, autonomous. The manufacturing sector is changing, too. New players are emerging, from start-ups to large businesses. The challenge is as much about establishing a vision for the future as about knowing how to get there as fast and reliably as possible and at the most reasonable cost. We need to develop new technologies, recruit new skills, and form new partnerships. The size of the Alliance will help us in this. For Groupe Renault, this will be the objective of the next strategic plan, which will be announced in 2017.

Carlos Ghosn

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer



(1) Source: Article published on 27 April 2017 on forbes.com: World's largest automakers (3 months 2017).

Editorial by Carlos Ghosn, Groupe Renault Chairman and CEO Editorial by Carlos Ghosn, Groupe Renault Chairman and CEO

read more

Carlos Ghosn reviews Groupe Renault's excellent performance and how the Group's transformation has enabled it to meet its objectives.
Editorial by

Carlos Ghosn

top

Renault 2016-2017 Report annual
Renault 2016-2017 Report annual

Edito de Carlos Ghosn - Rapport annuel Renault 2016-2017 Edito de Carlos Ghosn - Rapport annuel Renault 2016-2017

Le mot de Carlos Ghosn

Edito de Carlos Ghosn - Rapport annuel Renault 2016-2017
Edito de Carlos Ghosn - Rapport annuel Renault 2016-2017

Ces six dernières années, et 2016 en est l’aboutissement, le Groupe Renault a changé. De façon concrète et visible. Sur la seule année passée, dix véhicules ont été lancés.

Nous nous sommes étendus à d’autres segments comme celui des pick-up avec Alaskan. Nous avons aussi poursuivi le renouvellement de la gamme avec des modèles iconiques comme le nouveau Scénic ou, plus récemment, l’Alpine A110 présentée au Salon de Genève.

« Renault a changé,
et changera encore. »

Nous avons renforcé notre présence géographique – en Chine, en Inde, en Iran, en Argentine, au Brésil, en Russie – avec la consolidation réussie d’AVTOVAZ. Pionniers hier, nous confirmons aussi notre place de leaders sur le marché du véhicule électrique européen avec, entre autres, ZOE Z.E. 40, Kangoo Z.E. et Master Z.E. Nos résultats de 2016 donnent la mesure de ces changements.

Avec un an d’avance, nous avons dépassé les objectifs fixés dans le cadre du plan stratégique « Drive the Change » : chiffre d’affaires de 51,2 milliards d’euros, marge opérationnelle de 6,4 % et marge nette de 6,9 %, qui nous place au plus haut de l’industrie automobile. En accueillant Mitsubishi Motors, l’Alliance avoisine les 10 millions de véhicules vendus, et se place pour l’instant dans le top 2(1) des constructeurs automobiles mondiaux. Gamme et empreinte géographique renforcées, partenariats productifs, résultats record et robustes sont les signes extérieurs d’une transformation profonde, menée dans le cadre du plan stratégique « Drive the Change » depuis 2011. Parmi les leviers de transformation vient d’abord la multiplication de nos sources de profit, acquise via un portefeuille de véhicules plus diversifié, et un mix géographique plus équilibré. Ces dernières années, nous avons investi dans la production et l’approvisionnement local, en nous dotant d’usines au Maroc, en Algérie, en Chine. En France, les accords avec les partenaires sociaux ont été essentiels au retour à la compétitivité de Renault. De 2013 à 2016, la production sur l’Hexagone a crû de 50 %, et nous avons embauché trois fois plus de collaborateurs qu’initialement prévu, soit 3 000 personnes. À l’horizon 2019, nous allons moderniser notre outil industriel et embaucher 3 600 collaborateurs, dont 1 800dès cette année, et 6 000 contrats jeunes. Rendu possible par l’Alliance, un autre levier majeur a été l’activation des effets d’échelle – et la réduction des coûts qui y est liée. Le développement de plateformes communes nous a permis de construire plus de véhicules, dans plus de pays, à des coûts moindres, et à des niveaux d’investissements plus faibles. Durant les six dernières années, 3 milliards d’euros ont ainsi été économisés. Nous avons travaillé sur toute la chaîne de valeur du véhicule, de la définition produit à l’ingénierie, la fabrication, les fournisseurs et la logistique. Renault a changé. Sa croissance est désormais plus globale, plus durable et plus rentable. Dotés d’un socle solide et d’une énergie nouvelle, au sein d’une Alliance prospère, nous avons la taille et les moyens d’inscrire notre performance dans la durée. Pour cela, nous devrons continuer de changer. Car les défis sont nombreux : l’automobile change. Le véhicule du futur sera électrique, connecté, autonome. Le secteur industriel change aussi. De nouveaux entrants apparaissent, de la start-up aux très grandes entreprises. Le défi est autant de définir la vision du futur que de savoir comment y parvenir de la façon la plus rapide, la plus fiable, la moins coûteuse. Nous devons développer de nouvelles technologies, recruter de nouvelles compétences, nouer de nouveaux partenariats. L’envergure de l’Alliance nous y aidera. Pour le Groupe Renault, ce sera l’objet du prochain plan stratégique, qui sera annoncé courant 2017.

Carlos Ghosn

Président-Directeur Général du Groupe Renault



(1) Source : Article paru le 27 avril 2017 sur forbes.com: World’s largest automakers (3 months 2017).

Edito de Carlos Ghosn - Rapport annuel Renault 2016-2017 Edito de Carlos Ghosn - Rapport annuel Renault 2016-2017

lire plus

Carlos Ghosn revient sur l'excellente performance du Groupe Renault et des différents leviers de transformation qui ont permis au Groupe de réaliser ses objectifs.
Edito de

Carlos Ghosn

haut de page

Renault rapport annuel 2016-2017
Renault rapport annuel 2016-2017